Support Ribbons — What do they all mean?

Lots of Mothering members place support ribbons in their posts or in their signatures to show their support for a particular cause or illness or to identify with it in relation to someone in their family. Many people do not realize what each color ribbon stands for and it can be confusing since some are used for several different causes or illnesses. Here is a list of those we have in place and have been able to identify. If you have a ribbon to share that we have not covered here please post in the comment box below and we’ll add it to the article.


Our ribbons are courtesy of  Mothering member Nemmer 



Black, for mourning, melanoma, anti-gang, POW-MIA

Light blue, for prostate cancer, Trisomy 18, scleroderma, chronic illness

Brown, for anti-tobacco, colon cancer

Burgundy, for hospice care, multiple myeloma, headaches

Upside down burgundy, for cesarean sections

Gold, for childhood cancer

Green, for tissue and organ donation, depression, childhood depression, worker and driving safety, missing children, leukemia, environment, kidney cancer

Grey, for diabetes, brain cancer, asthma/allergies

Jigsaw, for autism

Lavendar, for general cancer awareness, epilepsy, rett syndrome

Lime, for lymphoma and lyme disease

Dark Blue, for child abuse prevention, arthritis, free speech, education, crime victim rights, water quality, domestic violence, water safety (drowning & accidents), colon cancer, teens against smoking, law enforcement

Orange, for hunger, cultural diversity, leukemia, lupus, racial tolerance, self injury

Pink/Blue, for pregnancy and infant loss, SIDS, male breast cancer, genital integrity

Pearl, for lung cancer, multiple sclerosis, emphysema

Periwinkle, for eating disorders, pulmonary hypertension, irritible bowel syndrome, esophageal cancer, gastroesophageal reflux disease

Pink, for breast cancer, birth parents

Purple, for domestic violence, religious tolerance, animal abuse, 9/11 victims, pancreatic cancer, Chron’s disease, colitis, cystic fibrosis, fibromyalgia, lupus, Alzheimer’s, leimysarcoma

Rainbow, for gay and lesbian pride/rights

Red, for AIDS/HIV, substance abuse, MADD, DARE, heart disease, epidermolysis bullosa, DUI awareness

Red/White/Blue, for US patriotism, 9/11 victims

Teal, for substance abuse, all gynelogical cancers (ovarian, cervical, uterine, etc), sexual assault, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome

White, for innocence, right to life, peace, victims of terrorism, diabetes, Alzheimer’s, adoptee, bone cancer, child exploitation and abuse

Yellow, for military/troops support, POW/MIA, suicide prevention, adoptive parents, spina bifida, Amber Alert, missing children, bladder cancer, endometriosis, hope in general

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *