Mothering Forum banner

Does delivering twins automatically mean an epidural is necessary?

1K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  Ellie'sMom 
#1 ·
A close friend of mine is due with twins at the beginning of May. (She would be posting here because I bought her a subscription, but nobody at Mothering will answer my calls/ emails about it.) For insurance reasons and legalities, she is giving birth in a hospital. Her obgyn has told her that she "must" have an epidural to deliver vaginally. Does anybody have the experience delivering twins and forgoing an epidural? My SIL had twins and her obgyn told her the same and she trusted him and went with it. Also, she will be 36 weeks next week and her obgyn wants to induce. She's been on 'bedrest' for a few weeks because her cervix has shortened...but otherwise it is a healthy pregnancy. What would you do?

Thanks all!

#3 ·
I have no experience with it..but no, an epidural isn't necc to deliver twins. Like the PP said people homebirth twins all the time.

I would imagine they want a spinal in place so they can do a c-section quick if they want to

your friend doesn't need a subscription to post here btw...just have to register for the site..unless something has changed since I registered here

#4 ·
Check out the Parenting Multiples forum, you can get lots of firsthand stories from the twin mamas there.

An epidural is very NOT necessary, but I have heard of some docs wanting the epidural catheter in place (the little tube that goes into your back) in case a c/s is needed quickly.

#5 ·