Mothering Forum banner

I apologize

2K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  BreastsTheMovie 
#1 ·
Background-

I work as a phlebotomist, and on Sundays I work at the "main" facility where we see a wide variety of people.

Today, a mother brought her daughter in. I don't know the child's age, but I would guess around 1 year of age. The child was nervous about being at the facility, so mama started breastfeeding the child in the waiting room.

I was drawing another patient, so one of the other phlebotomists called the mother back. The mother continued to breastfeed the child. I walked my patient out, and saw her breastfeeding as she waiting for the phlebotomist to come back with the orders the doctor faxed in.

Well... my fellow phlebotomist was upset and flustered that the mother was breastfeeding. I offered to take over, but she refused. And I hate to say it, but her attitude colored the care she gave.

So... to all the mamas out there who are given sub-par care because someone can't get over themselves or move on from the fact that you are breastfeeding- I am sorry.

#4 ·
Other than that I would take the patient and her mother if the breastfeeding bothered her, no.

She has years more time with the company and is actually the "lead" at another facility within the company. It would have been strange to have said something to someone in the same position as my boss.

In hind sight, I should have.

#5 ·