or Connect

Posts by Danesmama

Thanks for all of the replies!     Lauren-  Getting your PE means getting your Professional Engineer's license.   Without my PE I can only work under another engineer because I don't have a license to guarantee my work (you could compare it to taking the Barr for lawyers or being board certified as a doctor).  I looked into getting my PE after all of this time and it turns out they have increased the requirements.  I'd have to work for another 4 years before I could even...
I'm not sure where to start, so I'll just jump in!   I have been a SAHM for the past 10 years.  I have a Master Degree in Structural Engineering, but never worked long enough to get my PE, which I totally regret now.  Our family is having financial stress, which is adding a lot of stress to dh and my relationship.  I am beginning to consider going back to work, but am totally lost in how to start!  My first instinct is to go back to school for a little bit to refresh my...
I bought a bunch of steel cut oats about a year ago that we have not eaten. My ds#1 (9 years old) boycotted oats when I started making the steel cut rather than rolled. So, the steel cut oats got put away and kind of forgotten. They are stored in our downstairs room that is usually below 64 degrees F. Do you think these have gone rancid? They don't smell bad, but many Traditional Food sources warn against eating older whole grains. What do you think, do I need...
Quote: Originally Posted by Storm Bride Okay - so it's not OK not to apologize. Do you have any suggestions for someone like my dd? I'd like her to learn to use those words, simply because I know that some people attach importance to them. However, I don't see how standing there, holding her arm, and going, "say you're sorry", while she cries her eyes out and/or screams is going to make anybody feel any better. I'm really kind of lost as to how anybody...