or Connect

Posts by dongurigal

Stereo mood
Found my babysitters through an online mom's group and advertising in the small apartment building where I live--there are several teenage girls who live in the building. Have also perused the ads on Craigslist too plus word of mouth from friends. DH and I don't bother with date night--dd doesn't go to bed easily, so if a babysitter came, dd would be up till we got home. However, we have done lunch dates on a sat or sunday. Couple of hours, just us. Babysitter comes...
How did you come to the decision to stay-at-home? Fell into it. I was a teacher for many years--internationally. Loved my job and loved life as an international teacher. Met DH overseas. After getting married, I became what's known as a 'trailing spouse.' Yikes...there were few job opportunities in the countries we lived in (and sometimes I wasn't permitted to work), even with a job as portable as teaching--so ended up a housewife first and then, when DD was born, a...
Quote: Originally Posted by Adamsmama I'm just curious, though, as SAHMs what do YOU do if you need an emergency babysitter. I guess I see the opposite problem of the OP. As a SAHM I did make a sacrifice (as did my DH) to have me stay at home ... but because I stay at home, sometimes (rarely -- maybe 3x a year) need help -- need someone to watch my kids for a couple hours during a dr. appt. What then? (It isn't always possible for my husband to get...
Haven't read all the answers, so I hope I'm not repeating what's already been said. I don't know if I'd choose to be a SAHM if my DH weren't already helping out if I were working full time. You just have to peruse the SAHM threads here to see how exhausting it can be to be at home all day long with a couple of kids and then get no help in the evening. If you're not getting help now for something as basic as making supper, for whatever reason, valid or not, then you're...