or Connect

Posts by betts

I am a homebirth midwife who has been happy to serve women of color who range from low-income to upper middle class. I have not found any difference in outcomes for the low-income women because they were very committed to having a healthy pregnancy and safe birth and did everything possible to achieve that. A healthy diet is oftentimes your best bet for lowering your risk factor and it is possible to have a healthy diet even if you are low-income as many nutrient rich...
There are other homebirth practices as well as was mentioned Seven Cities Midwifery is in Norfolk and Full of Grace Midwifery and Virginia Homebirth Midwifery both serve Norfolk/Va Beach.
I have been a student with AAMI for about a year and LOVE IT! I left another program after spending 8 months feeling like it just wasn't cutting it and don't regret that decision at all. AAMI is what you make of it. The support is there if you ask for it, in fact in my experience, being a student at AAMI is like having a family of women who you belong to. I agree with a previous poster that you should make sure that the school you choose is more in line with your birth...
I paid for my AAMI tuition in full out of our savings and have been paying it back (almost done!) with an overnight postpartum doula job. I charged $15-25 an hour. I usually get time to study while I am there as well. I think it is worth it to go for it...
I haven't checked in for awhile. I have been following the thread through the email updates...you all have been busy!!! Congrats to all of you. I attended my first homebirth as an apprentice, it ended up being two days and a transfer. I still did a lot, even at the hospital I was able to help the mom push alone (they were really cool at the hospital) I feel more confident about everything...I think it is going to happen. Figuring out how to cut back on stuff to give...