or Connect

Posts by mamaluvspirates

I wouldn't feel guilty asking for the money...food isn't cheap, and why should you take money our of your family's budget to feed a child that isn't even yours?? Definitely, ask for the money if you don't mind having the child there.   But, on the other hand, don't feel guilty if you need to terminate care altogether! I'm not sure that I would have the patience to be intervening constantly in those little arguments all day long...
That's exactly what I did 1.5 years ago! I thought it would be good to get out of the house and do something that involved my brain a little bit lol. I work as a dr's receptionist on Saturdays and I love it. The day goes by so quickly (busy office) and I love being good at something other than my kids. Plus, hubby gets a day with the kids and they do fun stuff like go to McDonalds and the park. It's worked out very well for us.
I have no desire to have a career, but I have a Saturday job that I enjoy. I think a job and a career are two way-separate things: I enjoy having that little bit of extra money to spend on renos or to put into savings, but I have no desire to turn that job into a full-time gig. Ever.
My mom stayed home, but she was a different SAHM than I wanted to be. She did all the cleaning/cooking and we just sort of puttered around...I don't remember her doing much with us at all. She was just expected to be home with the kids. Myself, this is my chosen field so to speak .
To the OP...I know it's heartbreaking to think that your father doesn't approve of your choices, but you need to stand up for yourself and your family's choices. Tell him in no uncertain terms that you understand that he has a low opinion of your role in your family, but please don't let him speak to you like that. Just let him know that you are very happy in your role as a mom and that you will have to agree to disagree on this one...and that is the last you will speak...