or Connect

Posts by mama_miiteg

I don't know a lot about this and I have no first hand experience with this. Here are the things I have learned. 1) it is very normal for children to grieve differently than adults do. One typical example of this concept that is often given in literature that often children may appear to not be grieving for many months and then show great amounts of emotion/sadness grief. I read that this is because time moves differently for children/children experience time...
My sister in law lives with untreated schizophrenia and I have experienced similar behaviours to what you have described from her. Very firm boundaries, including no contact if that is the only way to achieve the boundaries is definetly the way to go. Do you have any other friends in common? Are you concerned about the safety of other people around her? Her children?
This is a complex and painful situation. I felt especially sad reading about your dsd being told that you had become pregnant to "replace her". She should not have been told that by her mom. I have come back to this thread a few times, puzzling over the term 'bio-mom'. I'm not sure if it is appropriate in this situation. Best of luck to your families in resolving this complex situation.
I am so thankful for this thread. I am at the start of couples therapy also, Doubledutch. I have no idea what will be talked about, as it is my partner who is driving this process. I look forward to learning more from others who have been in similar situations.
greetings my partner is going through a process of emotional reflection about our relationship that is proving painful for both of us. I have been crying a lot (privately), accessing supports through friends and family and mentally preparing for separation. Our children have not been told about any of this, and neither of us have cried in front of them. However, miraculously, the kids appear to be tuned in to what's going on, and some of the behaviours that I might...