or Connect

Posts by mambera

I have a PhD in neurobiology.  Honestly I left bench science in large part because I felt it was totally incompatible with parenting young children.  Fortunately I also have an MD and was able to transition to a more clinically oriented area of research that is much much more compatible with having young children (and also more remunerative because of the addition of clinical work).  I still don't know if I'm going to make it in academia or not (my publication record has...
Hi luckymama, that sounds like a really tough situation and I don't pretend to have the magic answer I just wanted to add a small tidbit regarding your question about how to get them to try stuff at least once. I have found that the best way for my kids to try something new is for them to have seen it a bunch of times (so it's not really 'new'). The first two, three, four times it shows up on the dinner table they may not touch it and that is OK.  I may encourage them...
 That is a great idea, stormborn and emilysmama.  Thank you!  I am going to try this.
Wow, there seems to be consensus on this.  I guess I am a pushover.   I do send her home for dinner if our main meal is something I know she doesn't eat.  Also dinner at our house is not really 'family time' since DH often doesn't get home till 8 pm, I feed the kids around 5:30-6 and then eat with DH when he gets home.  (We have an agreement with GND's family that the kids get sent to their respective homes at 7pm, prior to that if they are hungry they will be fed...