or Connect

Posts by berkeleyp

I'm not sure what exactly you are looking for or how tight the budget is but reading your desires reminded of me of what I've heard about "Moving Beyond the Page".  I've not tried this curriculum yet myself but have heard great things about it.  It is secular, literature based, and ties language arts, science, and social studies together in units. You might want to check out the review/discription here: http://www.rainbowresource.com/prodlist.php?subject=6&category=8068....
I just started out this past fall so I'm no expert but I have a shelf space dedicated to homeschool books including Usborne Science and History Encyclopedias and other reference books.  I have my daughter keep her notebooks and workbooks in a backpack that hangs on the coat rack - she is supposed to keep a pencil case in it too so we can just grab the bag and take out some work.   Our library books (of which there are generally 30-50) are in a basket next to the couch...
Check out http://www.ct-cheer.com/.  
I am really enjoying Building Foundations of Scientific Understanding with my kids.  We are doing 2nd grade and working through the first book at a rate of about one lesson per week.  I like it because it is very open ended and leaves me a lot of control while providing a framework.  It is somewhat work intensive on my part but not too bad.  I read the chapter for each lesson and write myself a quick outline, then I get the recommended books from the library and get...
I don't think you can do any more than voice your genuine concern and offer to help perhaps.  if you watch the kids sometimes, why not just make reading an integral part of your time with them.  This will have an enormous benefit for them and will improve your relationship with them too.  I know you are acting out of concern but ultimately it's your mom's decision.