or Connect

Posts by LittleBattleAxe

Did you initiate a conversation with the teacher and what was the teacher's response? We have struggled with the math curriculum in terms of, well, it's wack, but have always gotten cooperation from teachers giving credit when the correct answer is obtained even when the strategy being taught wasn't the strategy being used. The math is taught now makes me, personally, nuts, and at home we do things the way I was taught, which is much easier (there are a lot of...
Quote: Originally Posted by Chamomile Girl And that is why standardized tests are ! Seriously, I hate them. But geesh...who grades this stuff? Do they get all the answers out of a textbook from the 1940's? Knowledge is not standard! Interpretation matters. I can answer that, because I've worked for the company that scores most of these standardized test (ETS) and the one that scores most public school NCLB tests (Pearson). Depending on...
I'm a teacher; in that situation, the first time it happened, I would give her credit BUT I would find a quiet moment to talk with her and explain that she misinterpreted the directions, and that I was thrilled with her answer since she perhaps didn't understand the directions... however, if the school is preparing her for a standardized NCLB test (and most schools are), it is imperative that that she is able to respond in the way the test-writers want, because scorers...
Not sure how things work at your school. If my attempts to work things out had been fruitless, I would come in before school started on a Monday morning (being prepared to wait) and ask to see the principal, I would state my intention to wait as long as necessary; I would thank the principal for meeting with me and state that as of today, my son needed to moved to a different math class, or I would be pulling him from his present math class every day to teach him myself. ...