or Connect

Posts by BusyBee

I've been homeschooling my ds (10) for 2 years now.. It was really hard the first year.  This year he is cooperative because we had IQ testeing and he was show to be profoundly gifted with weak areas to work on.  He knows that he needs an idividualized academic program and is willing to comply now that it  has been explained to him.   I just pulled my dd (7) out of shcool and we will be starting to homeschool her too.  It was tough having two kids in different places.  I...
All the advice I can give you is my experience with my own three children.  My eldest was a very early reader.  He wanted and needed to learn to read.  When he would ask me what a letter was, I told him its sound, not it's name.  He didn't even know his ABC's or the alphabet until LONG after he could read novels.  Also, he didn't learn his sounds in alphabetical order either.  We did the simple, one sound for one consonant letters first, like B, M, T, P.  He though this...
My son is similar, but instead of being introverted, he is extroverted.  That said,  just 'cause he craves social interaction doesn't mean he is good at it.  I wish he could just have a tantrum, but my son lashes out and hurts people too.  He has sensory integration issues as well as having a high IQ ( by the way, you can have a learning disability and also be gifted!) and ADHD.  The way it was explained to me is that he has huge sensory defensiveness.  It is as if the...
My parents are teachers. Recently, my mom invited my children to visit her classroom for a couple days. At the end of those days, she could understand why I'm homeschooling my son. She finally "got it". My son was in school for Kind, 1st and 2nd. He had kind, committed teachers who actually cared for and loved him but he was having many behavioral issues. The school considered him a problem to be fixed. However, after leaving school, those same behavioral issued...