or Connect

Posts by bunny's mama

I joined before the crash when MDC was so very different. I was just getting used to being a SAHM and also getting used to this amazing thing called the internet ( ; My baby is turning 13 years old tomorrow. I can hardly believe it. I do come back sometimes to ask questions or give support, but mostly I don't have the time I used to for posting.
another mom of a 12 year old girl here....   So I was totally against all kinds of video games, until we went to a friend's house and played a dancing game on their Wii. It was SO MUCH FUN!! we played it for hours (adults AND kids) and the kids were arguing over who got to go next. by the end, all of us were sweaty and breathing hard. what a great workout! i'm very tempted to get one for our house just for the dancing games. they are amazing and really fun.   I agree...
i'm a therapist and I agree that there is likely some bad stuff going on in this kid's life. at 11, she should have some better boundaries.   that said, mama...it is NOT your responsibility to "save" this kid. in the ideal situation, she'd be a good friend to your dd and a generally well-behaved, boundary-respecting kid. in that case, i'd say, go ahead and have her over as long as you can stand to have an extra kid in your house (ITA that sometimes you just want your own...
adding my .02. my dd who is about to turn (!!!) 13 years old this month nursed just like your baby and I remember it like it was yesterday, partly because it was so hard for me.   here's two things i wish someone had said to me then:   1) follow your own instincts (the voice in your head that comes from your own heart-center and sounds like YOU, not your well-meaning  mom, MIL, husband, sister, grandma, or lady on the street)   2) everything with babies passes,...