or Connect

Posts by mennofied

I am still new to the Baby-Led Weaning approach of introducing solid foods at 6 months without pureeing anything (our baby is 6mo). One major problem I am having is with the in-laws and at our weekly church suppers. People have yanked food away from our 6 month old baby and said "That's Dangerous!!!" (green bean, banana) When they see him gag it only proves in their minds that this is dangerous! It's tempting to not feed him while we are with other people, or to spoon...
I was wondering if you swaddle? My baby is 5 months too and likes the woombie or the miracle blanket. Actually he hates them but it's what soothes him to sleep. She could try swaddling him, feeding, and then patting his back while she lays next to him like you would for nursing on the bed (Even better if your baby will use a paci, mine won't). My baby seems to really respond to this if I let go and relax with him. If I'm keyed up just waiting for him to take a nap it's...
What do you do to turn things around when you or your kids are having a bad day and have reached the end of your rope?   My husband works long hours so I don't have much help and sometimes I'm just really drained, you know? So far I've found that taking a nap with my baby, or while he watches a movie in the swing if I'm really desperate, can be a huge turn around for me. A nap is not always an option though. What have you found to be helpful?
I am a new mom so this is a great thread for us! I will be writing a lot of these down!   I can my own beans so we usually have plenty of beans around. I slice up some smoked sausage and while that's frying, plop the beans in a pan. Add brown sugar, onion flakes, garlic, salt, ketchup and mustard and it's "baked beans." If I'm feeling a little more nutritious I throw some greens in a pan with balsamic vinegar too.   I also keep stir fry veggies in the freezer. If...