or Connect

Posts by katsam

I would agree with the PP to try and have more special time. Every day if you can, even if it is just five or 10 minutes a day. That way it becomes a regular part of his routine. I would also agree with looking into PTSD. As a therapist myself I would also say that kids can often hold it together at school, and then melt down at home. You guys are the people he feels safest with to let those feelings out. Good luck!
My son did TL, and it really helped him at the time. The music varied from kids songs, to classical, to some jazzy sounding stuff. It all sounded a little "off" in regards to pitches and tones. My ds did not seem to mind though. Good luck!
I'd go for an evaluation somewhere else. Pediatricians aren't really experts on matters such as SPD usually. Try a Psychologist or developmental pediatrician, or even an OT that might specialize in SPD. Good luck!
Quote: Originally Posted by LynnS6 There are some Peltor Kid's ear muffs that sell for about $15-$20. I don't think that they are noise canceling, but they allow some sound through. I know people who've used them in various situations (one with an SPD child and one who flies a light airplane and wants to protect her child's hearing). Ah, here's a link: http://www.envirosafetyproducts.com/...-earmuffs.html There's a junior version for slightly...
Gerber training pants! http://www.amazon.com/Gerber-Trainin.../dp/B000UCP1IO Wearing underwear was what stopped my sensory son from wanting to potty train at three. These totally did the trick, and have lasted forever. I could pass them down to my daughter they held up so well. They are not so thick as to really seem like the typical training pant. Good luck!