or Connect

Posts by Hazel

I've read that if you feed them cornmeal they take can't digest it and it eventually kills them all off.
Quote: Originally Posted by Rhiannon Feimorgan I would guess birds to. It's too late for this year, but for next year early in the spring I paint a bunch of little stones red and scatter them in my strawberry bed. The birds are attracted to the red stones, thinking they are berries but soon find out they are rocks. After a while, they give up. By the time the berries are ripe, the birds have learned to leave the red things in that area alone and they...
yes, possibly birds. I guess I just thought the bite marks would look different on a bird eaten strawberry but I really have no clue! this is my first year with a garden other than a few things I've grown over the years in containers. I guess I need to put up some netting and see if that helps.
I've gotten about 10 off the plants already but went out to pick more this morning and somethign has nibbled on all of the ripe ones I have no ideas. its nibbled on them sort of like an apple, so I'm thinking mice? or worse...rats? I dont even know what we have here, we are new to the area. I looked for little paw prints and droppings but found neither. help! what can I do?
Maiasaura I can so relate.
Quote: Originally Posted by Chicky2 Hazel, call around to your nearby feed stores for straw. Here it's $6/bale. Straw is going to be thicker, and yellower, and softer. It does not contain seeds like hay does. Straw is normally used for bedding for livestock. Hay is usually used for feed. of my beets today. My kale is about done, too, I think. thanks Chicky!