or Connect

Posts by KestrelDream

I started Kindergarten in 1980. Third grade was when spelling tests started, so I studied for those. Very rarely, was a work sheet sent home to do.  It wasn't until 5th grade I got math homework. My husband and I talked a lot about our expierences in Jr high and high school (we went to school together since elementary) and, he never had homework, or rarely did. I was always bombarded with it 7th grade through my senior year. I was an honor roll student all those years,...
And that's the problem....parents revolting because of no homework. Come on...homework in early elementary....?!! What is going on here?!! Did you have homework at that age? Did you get pressured that if you didn't pass the state test, all hell would break lose?   The poor teachers now are being judged if their students pass the state mandated tests....and they pass off their stress to parents and call it "parental involvement".  ENOUGH already!!! Kids spend more...
I didn't read through the whole thread yet, so I'm just going to answer the question...because, schools are so different now since I was a kid....and they have been stressing me out since my oldest started Kindergarten (11 years ago).   How much homework? Too much.   When homework was first sent home to my kindergartner a few years back, I almost fainted.   When homework packets were sent home with my first grader, I got really upset.   When reading logs...
Ugh. I'm still not getting any email notifications on updated threads since this whole over-haul....wish I would of seen your post sooner!!!
  Anything happening in the Tampa area?