or Connect

Posts by Charmie981

Well, of course, as with anything, you take what you can use and throw away the bones.  I am a much more conservative midwife than Gloria Lemay and my students are both aware of that fact, but I do appreciate that she has a high volume of experience from which to teach and no matter how you practice midwifery, skills like BP and palpation are the same ;).
Yeah, they look pretty basic.  I mean, BP and palpation?  Yeah.  But the apprentice who is just starting out needs BASIC stuff and we've been so busy I haven't even had time to go over BP with her yet, so that's good.  And they're affordable.   I'm excited about "confident nutrition counseling."  I feel like a remedial class in that would be a good thing for me .
I'm gonna work on a few of these ideas.  I'll post back in a few months and let you ladies know how it's working.   Thanks!!
Sorry if this has already been posted, but I'm really diggin' the idea for both me and my apprentices:   http://onlinemidwiferyed.blogspot.com/2011/04/online-midwifery-classes-start-soon-may.html
Thank you so much for your reply.  I LOVE the idea of centering care and have for a long time.  I don't think my practice is quite "there" yet, but I do want to work toward it.   The healthy pregnancy class is a great idea.  Is it required?   What is the volume at the birth center you're working with?  We're consistently busy, but still qualify as small...20-25 active clients at a time.
I also like the idea of fostering a sense of community among clients.  The clients who attend childbirth classes together really "click" with each other and continue to follow each other t/o the rest of their pregnancies.  I'd like to find a way to offer them more opportunities for those connections if they want them.  And if I can do it while making my life a little easier, that's even better.