or Connect

Posts by Jael

Hi KodrutZ,   Sorry to hear about your Google woes, but that may turn out to be a blessing in disguise as you might now invest more into finding your own clients. I don't really do bidding sites either. Some freelancers do very well with them, but it's just not my thing.   For you, I'd say the same advice offered above applies. Sounds like you've got good experience and understand the ropes enough to get out there on your own. Can be frustrating at first, but once you get...
Yes, I'm a freelance writer working solely from home according to my own schedule. I work for commercial businesses that hire me to write articles, blog posts, ebooks, etc.   I used to write for a number of content mills, like wiseGEEK, Quality Gal, Need-An-Article and a few others, but have since worked to build up my own list of personal clients who pay a lot more than $5, $10 or even $20 per article. The work has its pros and cons. Though I enjoy working from home...
There's an informative discussion on a WAHM thread about self-publishing that you may find interesting:   http://www.wahm.com/forum/wahms-who-write-46/562505-thinking-about-self-publishing.html
Congratulations on your new business and much success to you!   By assumed name, are you referring to a DBA ("Doing Business As")? This would make you a sole proprietor. Even with a separate tax i.d. number, I don't think that's the best way to go. Instead, I'd suggest a limited liability company (aka an LLC). As a sole proprietor, you're ultimately held accountable in any lawsuits (ya never know these days). With an LLC, you and your family's assets will be...