or Connect

Posts by Hannahsmummy

Like zoebird says, I think it's really dependent on not only the school but even the individual teacher and the class itself. My daughter is in class one and has been self taught at reading for a couple of years now. She has also known the letters and sounds and writing since she was about 2.5. However, she hasn't been bored at school as there is a depth to officially learning these things that she appreciates and she enjoys the practice. Saying that our class one...
Sorry, I am just a bit confused by the question. Are you asking how a Waldorf school would feel/deal with a child entering first grade there who has reading skills?
We use wire pet brushes. They come in a variety of sizes and you can get the ones that are rectangular, just like a carder. We use them at home and they have them in our school along with proper carders.
I'd agree that it's really probably a child/family thing rather than a Waldorf thing. I have a 6.5 year old class one Waldorf child, she's been in Waldorf since she was 3. She is intellectually and artistically gifted and has real problems relating to other children and would much prefer to be with adults or kids in the older grades and she is really not sure what to do around very young kids. Most of her friends are in the older grades in fact. At the same time she...
My daughter is in class one and the day for them is pretty much the same as for class 2. Bear in mind though that I am not in North America so it may be different there. My daughters day begins at 9am when the class starts with morning verse and a bit of movemnet to get them settled. The first part of the day is then taken up by main lesson. This week they are working on numbers. In the past they have done letters, reading and writing. Main lesson goes until...