or Connect

Posts by bonamarq

Thank you everyone for your replies - more stories still welcome? Seems no matter what the topic most of  the mamas here can be counted on to give spot on advice!
Thanks for all that great feed back! I will certainly include my disccusion about the challenges from within the family itself! And the compassion around that judgement you get from others - I find it really infuriating that as a society - we are so quick to blame parents for any and all behavior challenges - we blame the kid for acadmemic problems - and chalk it up to just good luck for those who do really well!   I am hoping some first hand experiences...
Hello Everyone - full disclosure - I my self do not have a special needs child per se (anxiety/sensory issues etc) I am a special ed teacher by training, work with families and teachers of those with autism and am planning a training for early child care providers on how to help identify kids early and get parents to follow through with an evaluation.   I would like your stories, good and bad - about learning your child's diagnosis - I imagine here on this forum...
My 9yo still needs this - I have let her know that I enjoy it but want her to be able to sleep "on her own " at certain times - if she needs to sleep over grandma's (she's done that twice) and she LOVES to sleep over her best friend's house and have her over as well - but then she isn't sleeping alone, just not with me - and she needs to be able to fall asleep on her own as well sometimes   She is wrestling with the desire to 'do it on her own' mixed with the...
My dd has said many profound things, mostly to her dad and most of which I forgot to write down and although not so profound one of my favorite quotes   age 2 1/2 while hiking with her dad "I think I am going to pee in these charming woods!"