or Connect

Posts by owen&mama

Hi. I'm the 'good friend' that my good friend, singermom, referred to. And, I just lost the big message that I intended to post. Here is my more abbreviated version. My family and I have lived here for the last 8 months or so. (Read: My opinion is jaded by my recent experience.) We live in Reston, VA. That was a very intentional choice and quite different than our original plan. My company provided us with temporary housing (in the form of a furnished...
Like all of you, I'm so glad I found this thread. And, also like most of you, I am keeping an eye on my watch this Friday afternoon to get home to my little ones. But I wanted to post and join in the conversation. As I read the posts up to this point, I am finding so much in common with you all. I haven't gotten all the way through them yet (but I will), but I have already felt a big connection. My DH is a carpenter by trade - although not quite as enamored with it,...
In some of my travels with ds, when family or friends weren't available (sometimes buying the plane ticket is cheaper), I've used nannyonthenet.com. If they have a franchise in the area you are traveling, they can provide temporary nannies. Good luck!
(Cross-posted in Toddlers) I'm going to try to keep this short, but I'm curious as to whether this is normal and/or if there are things I should be trying to help. My ds, who turned 3 in December, is a very smart, clever, articulate, perceptive, yada yada yada, child. In the last couple of months, he seems to have developed this - this is hard to describe - tendency to use aggressive behavior as an outlet for pent up energy. Hmmm...maybe an example is a better way...