or Connect

Posts by Neuromancer

I'm doing CCE -- Cooperative Childbirth Educator -- training, because it seems really inclusive. It's not about any one method, and more about evidence, information, and tools. Not sure how widely this training is available, though. http://ceamny.org/about-us/cooperative-childbirth-education/
StephanieSelf, I'm no doctor, but maybe you're feeling her head because you're already somewhat dilated?
Well, for anyone else wondering the same thing, I am a certified PPD, but I don't do overnights. I assume this shift was a condition of the job you were considering? Some post partum doulas in our area do overnights, but others do not.
I am about to be certified (postpartum) through DTI. They've been amazing. They have trainings in several states and occasionally outside the US. If I ever do birth certification, I'd do it through them, too.
I am certifying through DTI, too, though I took one of their first training courses before it was streamlined to a 9-month process (or less), so it's taken me longer. I have been really happy with the mentorship, skills and training, reading, and business pieces.
I have just started doing research into Montessori principles, and how they can be applied at home. I want to support the "I can do it myself" and "Can I help?" attitude of my toddler and allow him to learn and make discoveries. I really enjoy looking at Montessori-at-home blogs and books for inspiration regarding how we can support that through our space design, but I find myself frustrated by how little space we have in our one-bedroom apartment. I don't know our...