Originally Posted by JacquelineR
I hate to be rude/ignorant, but is cholent a Jewish dish?
If I'm not mistaken, you're a Kosher Jew, right? (I've always been interested in Kosher, to the point of trying to read Leviticus at one point when I was told that you had to be Jewish and male to learn all of the "secrets" of Kosher... All I learned from that is that eagle is not Kosher.
Sorry if I'm prying.)
Cholent is a traditional Jewish dish- designed because we can't cook on the Sabbath, but we can eat foods that were cooked before Shabbos and kept hot. Recipes vary, but generally they contain beef, beans, barley, vegetables, and meat. I've seen vegetarian cholent recipes that have lots of beans and no beef. I've seen gluten-free cholent recipes that use rice, quinoa, or millet in place of the barley. The spices used in cholent vary WIDELY by region! (or, now, by the ethnicity of the cookbook author.)
Since I can't eat legumes, and severely limit my grain consumption, I make mine more of a "beef soup" than the traditional thick stew. Already on Shabbos I'm eating challah (gluten free, rice flour based) and I really don't need to eat quinoa or rice in my cholent in addition to that.