I requested the information through their website. They do label as required by law, but soybean oil is not required to be labeled. Nor is the cross contamination question.
They told me, I could have my doctor write a letter, but otherwise the information is proprietary.
Here is the body of their note:
|Because we understand how difficult it is for consumers with food allergies to find 'safe' processed foods, we clearly list the FDA Top 8 Major Allergens on our ingredient panels if they are included in our products.
The FDA specifies the Top 8 Major Allergens are as follows: Soy; Wheat; Peanuts; Eggs; Dairy; Tree Nuts; Shellfish & Crustaceans; and Fish.
Currently, these ingredients are listed specifically within our ingredient statements. They are also called out in bold print underneath the ingredient statement. Older packaging will only reflect these allergens within the ingredient statement itself (rather than reiterating the information in bold print).
Because recipes are not patentable, the terms 'natural flavorings' and 'spices' refers to dried spices which are not disclosed on the label for proprietary reasons. Unfortunately, if you are allergic to an ingredient other than those specifically declared, we are not able to disclose whether your ingredient is being used in the recipe, and therefore suggest that you avoid using this product.
However, if you would like to have your physician fax us a request on their letterhead with a contact phone number detailing the specific ingredient(s) in question. They can fax that request to: (412) 237-5291.
Thank you for your interest in Heinz products.
I asked in my question if soy or dairy is included in the "natural flavorings" and if the ketchup is run on the same line or manufactured in the same facility as soy, dairy, peanuts or tree nuts.
Maybe I will try call them. I just worry mostly about the soybean oil - if it is in the natural flavorings.