Originally Posted by tanyalynn
My understanding is that historically, 100+ years ago, vegetarian meant one who only eats from the vegetable/plant kingdom--basically vegan.
From the 1911 Encyclopedia Britannica:
|Vegetarian, a comparatively modern word, which came into use about the year 1847, as applied to the use of foods from which fish flesh and fowl are excluded.
So, 100 years ago the definition was pretty much the same as it is to day, it did not mean vegan. Earlier veg*ns were referred to as "pythagoreans" since Pythagoras was a well know early vegetarian in the western world.
Generally people only bother saying "lacto-ovo vegetarian" when they are talking about very specific details of their diet (such as when requesting recipes on a general veg*n board.) There are many many variations on the veg*n diet.
There are lacto-ovo vegetarians who simple avoid eating animals that are killed. There are lacto vegetarians who consume dairy, but no eggs (for example followers of Hare Krishna follow this diet.) There are ovo vegetarians who consume eggs, but not milk. There are relaxed vegans who avoid dairy and eggs, but still eat honey etc. Then of course there are stricter vegans. People who belong to the Jains religion even avoid root vegetables b/c worm might get killed when they are harvested.
Even amongst LO vegetarians, there are degrees of strictness. Some wear leather others don't. Some are careful about gelatin and rennet others just ignore those. The same is true for each type of vegetarian. This doesn't even bring up pseudo-veg*ns such as pescatarians (fish eaters.)
The words etymology is from Latin. Lacto means milk. Lacto is also the root for words such as "lactose" (the sugar in milk) and "lactation consultant." Ovo means egg. It is the root for words such as "ovulation" and "oval."