or Connect
Mothering › Mothering Forums › Natural Living › The Mindful Home › Arts & Crafts › Books, Music, and Media › Books Like The Diary of a Wimpy Kid?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Books Like The Diary of a Wimpy Kid?

post #1 of 12
Thread Starter 

My son LOVES the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books and has read and owns them all.  He reads them fully in a few hours after getting them and often re-reads them.  I'd love to find some other kinds of books that he'd enjoy as much.

post #2 of 12

My kids are huge readers so I asked them and they said not really.  But, he may like Calvin and Hobbs or Tin Tin comics.  Some of the words may be a bit harder but look at Diary of a W K as a stepping stone to a bit harder reading material.

post #3 of 12

I haven't read Diary of a Wimpy Kid, but I did receive a free review copy of Big Nate Strikes Again and really enjoyed it:

 

http://www.bignatebooks.com/books

 

it is much more clever than the comic strip, which I never enjoyed in the newspaper. I think most kids who like that kind of snarky, middle-grade humor would enjoy it.

 

(i hope this isn't considered spam/advertising--I didn't receive compensation for saying nice things, just the free book).

post #4 of 12

i am at a quandry myself here. i dont know any similar ones myself. 

 

dd loooooooved that series and nothing has come a close second yet to my knowledge. 

 

however the reason i am piping in is coz i think i have seen rip off's off of whimpy kid. things that look similar. i have seen them in the bookstore. dont know how good they are. 

 

i found this list on amazon http://www.amazon.com/Great-Books-12-14-year-olds/lm/R32R91PIBGGXXL

 

the first book actually looks pretty interesting to me. Al capone does my shirt. 

post #5 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by meemee View Post

 

the first book actually looks pretty interesting to me. Al capone does my shirt. 



Al Capone Does My Shirt is a good read. If you're looking for more text-based books (fewer or no illustrations compared to Wimpy Kid), then how about

 

Judy Blume, Tales of A Fourth Grade Nothing and the other Fudge books

Louis Sachar, Holes or Sideways Stories from the Wayside School

Andrew Clement, Frindle

Carl Hiasson, Hoot or Flush

Jerry Spinelli, Maniac Magee

post #6 of 12


      My son also loves the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books!  It is hard to find anything exactly like them.   The other series my son also really likes is the Hank Zipzer books by Henry Winkler (yes the 70s Fonz character) and Lin Oliver.

http://www.hankzipzer.com/books.html

They are not graphic novels, but they are also hilariously funny and not to difficult to read. 

 

 A very different series my son likes is the Percy Jackson series. Although they are fantasy and adventure they often have humorous things happen in them and appeal to boys in particular although my nieces like them too.

 

Quote:

Originally Posted by SugarGlider View Post

My son LOVES the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books and has read and owns them all.  He reads them fully in a few hours after getting them and often re-reads them.  I'd love to find some other kinds of books that he'd enjoy as much.


Edited by raksmama - 12/25/10 at 1:15pm
post #7 of 12

My son likes the Diary books and also the Series of Unfortunate Events books.

 

post #8 of 12

Dear Dumb Diary.

 

http://www.amazon.com/Never-Anything-Ever-Dear-Diary/dp/043962908X

 

Very similar, with a girl protaganist...but that did not stop my son from reading all of them!

 

The "Just Disgusting" books are funny - gross - simple.... he might like them:

http://www.amazon.com/Just-Disgusting-Andy-Griffiths/dp/043954954X/ref=pd_sim_b_18

 

Lastly, for more novel like books, old school stuff from Gordon Korman is pretty funny.

(I want to go home, and Something's Fishy at McDonald Hall)

post #9 of 12

You might try Milo: Sticky Notes and Brain Freeze by Alan Silberberg.  I haven't read it myself, but I know it has been compared favorably to Wimpy Kid.

 

Others that might work:

A Whole Nother Story by Cuthbert Soup

The Wayside School series by Louis Sachar

The Secret Series by Pseudonymous Bosch

Frindle by Andrew Clements

 

 

Hope this helps :)

post #10 of 12
We have Wimpy Kid series and my kids also like Dork Diaries and the Nate books mentioned above.
post #11 of 12

My DS2 LOVES the Wimpy kid books so much too!  On the day that book #5 was to be released he leapt out of bed and rushed to the mailbox at six that morning to see if his copy had arrived yet.  biggrinbounce.gif  He has also started keeping a journal (a journal, not a diary!) that he writes in with stick drawing illustrations that crack me up something fierce (before you gasp that I am terrible, he shares his journal entries with me).

 

The series is one of the only fiction books he has enjoyed.  He does like the Calvin and Hobbes comics. He also really liked the Bad Kitty books by Nick Bruel - they are funny, but on the short side.  He read the first Percy Jackson book, but none of the others.  He did like the Captain Underpants series.

 

I asked our librarian your question a few weeks ago, and he recommended the "How to Train your Dragon" and "How to Train Your Pirate" books.

 

Looking forward to seeing other suggestions.

post #12 of 12

The Judy Bloom Fudge series is great, Diary of a 4th grade nothing is very funny. My daughter enjoyed it a lot.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Books, Music, and Media
Mothering › Mothering Forums › Natural Living › The Mindful Home › Arts & Crafts › Books, Music, and Media › Books Like The Diary of a Wimpy Kid?