or Connect
Mothering › Mothering Forums › Mom › Parenting › Working and Student Parents › What are your work hours?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

What are your work hours? - Page 2

post #21 of 40

I'm lucky that I get to kind of make my own schedule.  Right now I work 8:30-6:30 on Mondays, 2-8 Tuesdays, 9-6:30 Wednesdays, and 9-3 Thursdays to total 30 hours a week.  I have to be here to close 2 nights a week but I've arranged my schedule to close 3 nights as of now so that I can have Fridays off, which I super mega love.  And my assistant gets the day off when I close, so she super mega loves me!  A few weekends a month I end up having to work (I'm a Teen Librarian, so sometimes we have weekend events), but I earn comp time for that and my boss encourages us to use that up and not let it sit, which is awesome.

post #22 of 40

I work PT 5 days a week from somewhere between 11 and 11:30 to 5 pm.  I love my schedule.  It gives me time with DS in the morning and he goes to bed around 9:00 so we have plenty of time in the evening too.  I have no idea how all of it is going to change once #2 comes along, but for now, it works perfectly.

post #23 of 40

I work half-time and am required to bill 10.25 direct hours per week of face-to-face time with my clients. I work in my clients' homes, so I make my own schedule. My agency does not care how/when I get in the hours, as long as they are in. Non-direct hours (email, reports, notes, etc) are done in my own home. I currently see clients from 4:30-8:45 on Mondays, 4:30 to 8:45 on Wednesdays, and from 9:00-6:30 on Fridays. I can switch anything, anytime as long as I see all my people and get in the 10.25 direct service hours.

 

I do my non-direct work after the kids are in bed.

post #24 of 40

I work M-F 8:00a-4:30p with a half hour lunch.  It's ok.  I wish I could work 8:00-3:00 and the rest in the evening after kiddo is in bed.  My job duties would fit that arrangement, but there is no way in this world or the next that the Powers That Be would go for it.

post #25 of 40

I work 4am-12pm 5 days a week. I love my hours because I still have a whole day ahead of me when I get out of work. My SO takes our son to school in the morning and I get to pick him up. I generally work weekends and have 2 weekdays off, which I also like because I'm able to go help out at his school. I'm still on maternity leave as our daughter is 3 weeks old, but I think it should also work out just fine with her when I go back to work too. 

post #26 of 40

I work 7-3:30 M-Thurs.  The mornings are early but in some ways it's easier than a late start because there is no expectation that I will give my kids breakfast (day home feeds them) and no expectations the kids will dress themselves or get themselves ready.  They are pretty tired and hungry by the time I pick them up.  I usually get to the day home at 4:00-4:30 and then it takes us awhile to get out the door because DS still nurses at pickup every day.

 

The shift is pretty great and I can't complain.  Mon-Thurs would be ideal life-wise but financially it's a little shaky because I still have to pay for full time daycare.  I was working Fri-Mon to cut down on daycare costs (DH is off weekends) but we missed having weekends off together.

post #27 of 40

I work from 7am to 4pm monday through Thursday and 7am to 3pm on Fridays.  Some days (like maybe ten out of the year) I am expected to stay until 7 or 8pm.

 

But I get a month off for Xmas, 1.5 for summer, two weeks for Easter and week for fall break.

 

I would rather work from 9am to 4pm :D 

 

But actually I am pretty happy.  I just wish it wasn't quite so early to start

post #28 of 40

I just started working, and it is very part-time.  I go in around 9:30 or 10:00 after dropping my youngest DS off at school and am off before noon.  I'm only scheduled to work 2-4 mornings a week; it's pretty flexible, and if need be, I can go in afternoons or evenings if I set it up to do so.  I could work more hours, and may do so in the future.  I think I'd like to work about 20 hours a week, which would still leave me time to study and run errands since my kids are all in school.   For training I was working 8 hour days and that was too much for me - on my feet all day except my lunch break.  I need to transition slowly to working after being a SAHM for a decade. 

post #29 of 40

I work full time.  My work hours are Tue 3pm to 9 AM Wed.  (i sleep at work) and wed and thur 3 pm to 11pm.  the other 6 hours i work when i want.  i usually just tack those hours onto my wed and thru shifts so i have a full 4 days off.  I use that time to do paperwork, take clients to appts, and do shopping and other errands.  I would prefer to do 1 eve and 3 ovns like i use to but they told me that when i was promoted to manager i could only do 1 ovn.

post #30 of 40
3 long days to total 23 hours per week. Perfect for our family; I feel lucky to have this job. Part time jobs with full benefits are pretty rare!
I went through 5 jobs to find this one, and, feel it's a keeper.
post #31 of 40

I work a theoretical 36 hours a week, but usually end up with at least several hours more of extra work in the evenings at home, or being away for congresses or meetings. However, there are no fixed hours, and I can come in late and/or leave early or work from home if there are no meetings or appointments scheduled (which I mostly control myself). So, I work hard (as is expected more or less in the company/ for this job), but I have lots of flexibility. And I looove my job, including the travel part smile.gif

post #32 of 40

I work full time. I'd love to move to 80% and my job would allow it but it would result in a major, major loss of benefits. I'd retain my health insurance but lose everything else. So, 20%+ less salary + no longer exempt in terms of schedule so I'd lose a lot of my vacation time + have to account for each hour + lose $5-7k bonus = probably worse overall. I can work from home and take half days now. Bah.

post #33 of 40

I just accepted a position that is 8-4:30 every other weekend. I can pick up shifts through the week if I want and can cover weekend shifts. But my required part is 34 hours per month. 

post #34 of 40

I work a 9/80 schedule, which means I have every other Friday off.  I work from 6:30 - 4:00 except on the Fridays I am working I work 6:30 - 3:00.  I would work 4/10s if I could, it's nice having 3 day weekends.  My husband works a little later, so he can get the kids off to school and I can pick them up with a minimum of after school care.  The tough part is that the elementary schools here only go for a 1/2 day on Wednesdays - that really makes it difficult.  All in all, I do like my schedule.   

post #35 of 40

7PM to 7:30 AM. I'm a night nurse and I work 3-4 days a week. Usually if I'm able to get home on time, I catch the kids on their way out to door to school, and I sleep while they are in school. I am able to have dinner every night, and tuck them into bed on the nights I don't work. I leave for work at 6PM.

 

If I could I would switch to days. However I'm a new nurse and nights work better for me as far as being slower paced so I can learn nursing skills. Besides it's hard to get switched to days around here!

post #36 of 40

I work 9-5:30 M-F. I like starting at 9 as it allows me to drop my daughter off at school and stay with my son for 10 minutes at daycare before needing to leave for work. I don't however like not getting home until 6pm (after picking the kiddos up at daycare) and having to cram in homework, cleaning, dinner, baths and showers, laundry, taking care of the animals, playtime, and storytime.

 

I'd prefer my daughter not have to go to daycare at all. It would be nice to be able to pick her up from school but that's impossible while holding down full time hours. My daycare opens at 6AM and closes at 6PM so I am limited to that. I need to give myself 30 mins to get to daycare in the evening and from daycare to work in the morning in case of traffic issues or weather related road problems. If I worked an hour or two earlier I'd still have the same amount of time with my kids in the evening as their bedtimes would have to change to reflect getting up earlier to go to daycare in the morning so I could get off to work. I'm no longer with my kids dad and have continued to want to do all of the drop offs and pickups even now my boyfriend has recently moved in. My morning commute is 45 minutes and my evening commute is 30. I leave at 8am and return home at 6pm. It's a long day for all of us and I would be fibbing if I didn't admit that I do feel a bit guilty about it all (well knowing it's what I need to do to survive and provide for them). 

 

Ideally I'd love to make the same or more working half as much. ;)

post #37 of 40

I work a flexible full-time schedule.

 

Mon 8:30-4:30 with a break from 10-12 so that I can volunteer at the kids' school.

Tues 8:30-2:45 telework

Wed 8:30-7:15P Office

Thurs 6:00-2:45 telework

Fri 8:30- 7:15P Office

 

I love it because I have my kids Mon, Tues, Thurs, and Sat nights, so I get off early and pick them up on time from school. No aftercare on Tues and Thurs. We have a lot of time at home to just take it easy. I feel like I have a part time job. They stay with their dad on Wed and Fri and so I spend long hours in the office those days. Since I started doing that, I don't work on weekends anymore. I'm more focused. I do laundry on telework days and put it away Sat morning before the kids get home. I can do most of my chores while they are with their dad and have more time to be with them. We do some daily chores together in the evening, but mostly we have time to sit and be or go out and explore.

post #38 of 40

I recently (well, almost 6 months ago) got a less-than-part-time job as a classroom assistant in a local kindergarten. Before that I worked as a waitress, and then stayed at home with DD for 6 months after being fired from the waitressing gig. My hours are 9-12:30, but I usually stay til 1PM. DH works overnight shifts from 10PM til 6AM, so it's nice to have our days together with DD and we don't have to deal with daycare. I make about half of what I did waiting tables, but I have a degree and wanted to start doing something with it, and the path I'm on now will eventually lead to that, and to more money than waitressing could bring in.

 

We're planning to have another LO soon, and it'll be great to have so much time at home with my two little ones. Also my district has a Career Growth program that includes partial tuition reimbursement and pay raises for completing courses, so I plan to take my time going through school to get my credential and hopefully I'll be teaching full-time when my kids are starting school.

post #39 of 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by K1329 View Post

3 long days to total 23 hours per week. Perfect for our family; I feel lucky to have this job. Part time jobs with full benefits are pretty rare!
I went through 5 jobs to find this one, and, feel it's a keeper.


What on earth job do you have to get this kind of a deal?? I would love to have that.

 

post #40 of 40

Super flex right now.  I have meetings on Thu and Fri mornings, and usually one to three other times per week on a variable basis.  I'm WAH the rest of the time right now since I have a 4 m/o.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Working and Student Parents
Mothering › Mothering Forums › Mom › Parenting › Working and Student Parents › What are your work hours?