or Connect
Mothering › Mothering Forums › Pregnancy and Birth › Birth and Beyond › Unassisted Childbirth › getting the birth certificate
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

getting the birth certificate - Page 5

post #81 of 178
Virginia

30 Days After Birth (law requires 30 days):
1) Schedule appointment with the local health dept where the birth took place
2) Fill out a simple form with basic info about the pregnancy and the baby (weight, boy/girl, size, etc)
3) Bring in proof of pregnancy and picture ID
4) You also need a witness to sign and verbally state that he/she witnessed the birth and also show picture ID (This can be a spouse)


After 30 days
1) Proof of pregnancy (i.e. prenatal record, or signed statement from health care provider, or visit from health dept nurse)
2) Evidence the child was born alive (i.e. statement from health care provider who examined child or visit from health dept nurse)
3) Proof of residence if birth occured at mother's residence
*If the birth occured off mother's place of residence, a few affidaivits will be required to prove mother was there at the time of birth
**If the mother is not a resident of Virginia it will be up to the health department clerk what will be required.

A couple side notes. The clerk at the health department said that it can get pretty ugly if it is not done within 7 days after the birth took place. Even then, the application can be denied. So it also depends on the person inputing the information in Richmond. It would also be good to know the baby's size information and apgar scores since all that information has to be filled in on the application.
post #82 of 178

Louisiana

LOUISIANA

To register a home birth you must go to the local health unit in the
parish where the birth occurred with the following information:

Proof of Pregnancy-a statement from a Louisiana licensed midwife or
physician stating:

The date the mother was first seen by the doctor or midwife (this date
may be after the date of birth).

The results of the mother’s prenatal or postpartum exams or pregnancy
tests.

The date of the mother’s last menstrual period

The date the baby was born, or was expected to be born (due date)

Child's Information (one of the following)

A Statement from the child’s pediatrician or Health Care Provider
A Baptismal or Christening Record
Child’s Immunization Record
A Copy of the Child’s Health or life Insurance Policy

Photo Identification [of parents]
Louisiana Drivers license
Louisiana Identification card
Passport

Proof of Louisiana Residency (at the time of birth) one of the following:
Utility statement or bill
Lease
post #83 of 178

Connecticut

Quote:
Originally Posted by truemists View Post
Anyone know about CT? I noticed a question earlier but didn't see a reply..
YES. Its easy!

Go to your town hall and ask for a "Home birth Registration Packet" from the town clerk. I JUST got mine.

I tried to find it online, but I cant. It comes from the Dept of health, Vital records.

It has detailed instructions and comes with all the forms. It asks for proof of pregnancy but you can have either a dr note, or 2 notarized forms (they give you the blank forms) for a witness other than you or your husband to swear that they saw you within x time period and you were pregnant.

The other forms are basic questions for the "vital records" dept. Did you use tobacco this pregnancy? Alcohol? What were the APGARS, space to check off any anomalies...birth defects...etc....

Pretty self explanitory. Then if you dont have a HCP to sign it you just have to have someone who is "swearing" that they witnessed the birth.

You return it to the town hall and your town clerk has to do the rest.
post #84 of 178
Anyone know about Washington? I'm planning a UC in October and I'd really like to know how to register the birth!
post #85 of 178
I called Vital Records in Oregon today to get the paper work necessary to obtain a birth certificate and ssn. After calling a few numbers and getting a little bit of confusion from people, I got to someone who realized I needed to "register the birth" and she'd send me a "home birth packet."

Apparently the phrase "register the birth" is very important...otherwise they assume you just want an application for a birth certificate that already exists, or that someone else must have already filled out the paperwork for you the fact that myself and DH were the only attendants threw a couple of them off guard

So here are a couple more details to help Oregon UC parents. The number for OR Vital Records is 971-673-1190. (This number, 971-673-1169, took me right to the lady that knew just what I needed to register the birth.) And apparently there will be a box to check on the paperwork if you want a social security number too.
post #86 of 178
Still nobody with info about Washington?
post #87 of 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamsInDigital View Post
Still nobody with info about Washington?
I've been looking for both of us. I had all the info I needed to UCing in Cali... Oh well.

I can't find a homebirth packet online. However, I did find something about the process on Bornfree site.

From Bornfree! Laura Shanley's webpage:
"I called the vital statistics office .... all they need is ID, proof of address, mom's signature and father's (or partner's) witness. If the baby is over 10 days old, they also need a doctor's bill or letter on "official" letterhead. "

I'm going to call the Snohomish County Vital Statitics office the next business day and ask who handles registration of out-of-hospital births. http://www.snohd.org/snoVitalStats/birth.htm

I expect that we'll see a ped at 3-5 days postpartum, and I'm going to try to make an appointment at the vital statistics office a few days later. I *will* get that paperwork filed ASAP this time! Honest, I will.

I'll try to update in about 4 weeks with how it goes. But would welcome info from someone in WA who has already done this since I'm due in 3 weeks!
post #88 of 178
I know this has already been covered but i am in IL, just had a homebirth (3/24/08) with a midwife who is illegal, so I have to claim unassisted right? I am in dupage county wondering how i go about doing this birth cetificate thing? And can i file for SS# at the same time? Or is that a whole other process? Thanks for any help.
post #89 of 178
I would call the DuPage County office of Vital Statistics and tell them you need to register a birth. "Register" is important, otherwise they'll pass you around thinking you just need a copy of a bc that's already in existence. And yes, you tell them the birth was unassisted, but when they ask about prenatal care, you can tell them you had mw care. You don't need to tell them who.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SquishyMommyof2 View Post
I know this has already been covered but i am in IL, just had a homebirth (3/24/08) with a midwife who is illegal, so I have to claim unassisted right? I am in dupage county wondering how i go about doing this birth cetificate thing? And can i file for SS# at the same time? Or is that a whole other process? Thanks for any help.
post #90 of 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyblufig View Post
I would call the DuPage County office of Vital Statistics and tell them you need to register a birth. "Register" is important, otherwise they'll pass you around thinking you just need a copy of a bc that's already in existence. And yes, you tell them the birth was unassisted, but when they ask about prenatal care, you can tell them you had mw care. You don't need to tell them who.
If they ask for the name (just assuming they will) would i just tell them annon midwife then? What a PITA this is LOL.
post #91 of 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by SquishyMommyof2 View Post
If they ask for the name (just assuming they will) would i just tell them annon midwife then? What a PITA this is LOL.
When I registered our UC babe in Cook County, I just told them I used "a lay midwife" for prenatal care. She didn't ask for a name. When she asked who delivered the baby I said "me!".
post #92 of 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by dantesmama View Post
New York - All we had to do was bring the baby and our drivers' licenses to the city clerk's office and fill out a simple form.
New York is very different county by county.

A friend in Oswego was able to send just her husband by himself down to the village clerk and request the forms and he filled them out right then and there and it was done.

We're in Onondaga county, the UC baby is 2+ y/o now and we still have not been able to get our town, county, and state vitals departments to agree to who is supposed to handle it and HOW it is to be handled.

They also wanted proof of pregnancy, but I never saw a doc, and DS still hasn't seen a doc, so we really have no way to do that.

It's been such a PITA that we truly aren't sure exactly how far UP/UC we're going to go with my current pregnancy just because of this mess.
post #93 of 178

Barren County, KY

We had a really easy time filing for the BC. We (me, the father {IF}, and the baby's mom {IM}-I was a surro) went down to the Health Department and filled out the form. They had IM sign it as the "Midwife" then, since we aren't married, IF and I had to show our IDs and sign the Paternity Affidavit. That was it. They didn't ask for proof of pregnancy or residency or anything like that. Of course that could be because we're the first people to file as a UC and I think we kind of confused them, lol! It was a really hard concept for them to grasp. But my IPs have the official copy of my surro son's BC so apparently they didn't need any paperwork from us.
post #94 of 178
anyone know about ohio for future references. Planning to ttc in a few months
post #95 of 178

UC births in Riverside, California

Apparently, they're very cooperative... well, at least they have info on the website.
http://www.rivcovitalrecords.org/nh_birth.html
post #96 of 178

Washington State

Looks very easy!

Call the Department of Health in Olympia. Ask to speak to the person in Vital Records who registers homebirths. As of right now, the person is Daresa Zarrell, Health Services Consultant, Statistical Services. 360-236-4338. She will mail you the forms and a pre-paid return envelope. (There may be other people who do this, I don't know. We did get transfered around and put on hold a few times before the DOH figured out who we needed to talk to.)

For highest ease, you want to call the day your baby is born (or before) so you can get the forms postmarked by the tenth day postpartum. (This may require calling more than once. They didn't return our original call.) Before the tenth day, you just have to fill out the birth certificate (anyone but the mother can do this) and a supporting affadavit that needs to be notorized (I paid FedEx $10 for this service). If you are not married to the father, there is another form to be filled out. After the tenth day and before the baby's fourth birthday, you need to include documentary evidence, such as a baptismal record or doctors note that includes date of birth, etc.

I sent our paperwork in today. She said it just needed to be postmarked by the tenth day, and our babe is 9 days old today. You can also request copies at the time you file, though we did not. That's another form, and we did not have the checkbook with us when we got to the post office. No big deal though, you can order copies any time. I think they are $20?

She did ask if I had a midwife, and I said no. I think she asked a second time (no maliciously) and I simply clarified that I "did not have a midwife liscenced in WA." She was very nice, and I got our paperwork the very next day in the mail.

HTHs!
post #97 of 178

Michigan

I can help with St. Clair County, Michigan anyway!
I called our local clerk's office and they said there is a packet to be picked up & filled out, and then a sworn witness statement (whoever that may be doesn't matter) that has been notarized must accompany it. That's all. It sounds so easy, I was excited!! LOL. I THINK it goes county by county here, everything else does.....
post #98 of 178
OMAHA, NEBRASKA, DOUGLAS COUNTY

i had a UP/UC in May of '06. this is what i did, and it went smooth as silk.

according to vital statistics, the birth needs to be registered within the first year of life.

i took her in to see the ped. at 2 weeks for hearing screen and PKU (required in this state, unfortunately), then applied for the birth certificate AFTER this was done. i saw Dr. Lisa Whitcomb, BTW, who is very homebirth-friendly, and has no apparent problem with unassisted. had the screening tests done at Children's. (Dr. Monty Mathews is another homebirth-friendly doc; he's at UNMC)

i took baby with me to the county courthouse vital statistics office. the woman there (Mary, i think her name is) is VERY friendly. told her the situation, she smiled and handed me the forms and jokingly said 'see ya next year!'. the forms were easy enough to fill out, and you just mail them in. there's a form for requesting SSN in the packet. didn't ask for proof of pregnancy, prenatal records, anything. birth certificate says dh caught her

everyone i dealt with was very nice and gave me no hassles. if you live in douglas county, feel free to PM me if you have any questions. i'd be more than happy to help
post #99 of 178
MICHIGAN (MI)
I just went through the process in Washtenaw county. Not a big deal at all - needed an appointment with the Vital Records office where dad, mother, and baby were present with ID for parents. There was a simple worksheet we filled out and that was that. No doctors records or proof of pregnancy stuff required. I did get asked about midwife attendance and I said she didn't make it. The woman knew all the midwife's names and asked who we were working with, so it was good I had a name she recognized to use. We did wait until baby was nearly 3 months old and fat and smiley, but I don't think that was necessary here.
post #100 of 178
Maine

I went to town hall and got a blank birth certificate, you can print out a blank on online too, but I didn't know that, the town hall lady was really nice. I brought the paper home and filled it out, we brought it back and they would have filed it right then and there, but because I'm not legally married to DH we had to fill out an "Acknowledgement of Paternity" form, and they have to winess both of us signing it. They did not ask for any proof of pregnancy or anything like that.

So it took an extra trip back down, but that's all we had to do, they gave us the birth certificate right there on the spot...

getting the SSN was a bit more of a hassle, because even though I checked the box on the form, that part of the form was misplaced by the people that send it to the office of vital records and so the SSN was not issued automatically and we had to go down to Social Security and apply for it.

I thought we were going to have a hard time, but all I had to show the SS office was my ID and the birth certificate and a health insurance card for my baby. I don't know what they would have accepted if I didn't have the ins. card.

hope this info is useful! its is very easy to get a BC in Maine!
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Unassisted Childbirth
Mothering › Mothering Forums › Pregnancy and Birth › Birth and Beyond › Unassisted Childbirth › getting the birth certificate