Originally Posted by ashley1972
Its not actually about overaccting - in Maryland there is a state law that doesn't allow midwives (or docs) to deliver after 42 weeks. Not sure if that law exists elsewhere or not. The only option if you go past 42 weeks and don't agree to an induction is a homebirth.
Huh. I never heard of that, and I'm in Maryland. My hospital-birth midwives told me that if I went over 42 weeks they'd want to see me daily and do biophysical profiles, but they never said it was illegal to deliver babies after 42 weeks. That was in 2005. Is this a new law?
...I don't even see how a law like that would make sense. How could there be a law that says it's illegal for doctors to provide critical medical care? Seriously, if a woman shows up at a hospital in labor and she's 42w1d, how would it make sense for state law to require that the doctors send her home with no care?