or Connect
Mothering › Mothering Forums › Childhood and Beyond › Education › Learning at Home and Beyond › Give me the good, bad, and ugly on your states laws
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Give me the good, bad, and ugly on your states laws - Page 3

post #41 of 49
Alaska is pretty lax. If you just want to go it on your own without gov't interference I don't think you have to do anything at all.

If you want to enroll in one of the distance education learning programs that are funded by the state you just have to write a learning plan at the beginning of the year, provide quarterly work samples in the subjects being taught and submit student evaluations using the grading standards of the parent's choice. At 3rd grade the student needs to participate in standardized testing but the results don't have any affect on the student being allowed to continue homeschooling or not. It sounds like a lot but it's pretty simple.. and in return each student gets an allotment of between $1200 to $1800 (depending on grade) a year to spend on curriculum material and supplies of the parent's choice. (secular only) Plus a home computer and scanner/copier/printer/fax machine.

I know some people have objections to participating in such a program but we really like it. We don't have extra money to spend on schooling materials and this makes a huge difference.. It's actually a big reason that I think we're going to try and stay in AK instead of moving away to a warmer state.:
post #42 of 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by StellasMommy View Post
We moved to WI last winter. This is our first year that we'll have to do any official paperwork. We send a form to the state each year and "have to" put in 875 hours. How/if that is checked, I do not know. We're learning all the time, so it's not going to be hard to do, that's for sure. That's it. Pretty easy.
WI's compulsory attendance law covers kids from age 6 until age 18. So...you have to send in a form for them (PI-1206) by October 15th of the school year where they turn 6 on or before September 1 and until the end of the semester/quarter they turn 18.

The form is actually pretty simple because you don't have to provide names or birthdates or anything like that. You just have to indicate the number of males/females in each grade or you can indicate the number of males/females in two ungraded categories.

You can actually see a sample of the form online.

There are lots of great support groups - both statewide and locally. My fave is the Wisconsin Parent's Association. They have lots of good info on their website and a very helpful handbook.
post #43 of 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by SinginMamaTo2 View Post
NC here.
Pretty easy. Letter of intent and yearly standardized test. Attendence and results need to be kept for a year but no one ever asks to see them. Lots of support groups all over the state. Especially Raleigh and Charlotte/Asheville areas. And Asheville is VERY chrunchy!
ditto. I didn't realize that about Asheville. Too bad I live too far.

The only thing about our state that I don't like is that there aren't any public schools that allow homeschoolers to take classes, not even high school (at least not in our area of NC). Plus, there are no online courses that can be taken through the schools to get credits like a lot of other states offer.
post #44 of 49
Utah is super easy. Just a letter of intent every year, and that's all. No vax requirements. Another thing I like about Utah (and Idaho, for that matter) is that they allow for dual enrollment. So, if I am homeschooling, but I really want my child to take band, or french or shop class through the school, I am allowed to enroll her in just that one class at school and then continue on my happy homeschooling way.
post #45 of 49
Thread Starter 
Thanks everyone!

We just found out this morning that we relocating. We haven't accepted any positions, and I need to complete my homeschool criteria search, I still have a few locations that are possible but no clue on their laws. Anyone have a good basis on searching? For instance I usually find the govt site with their regulations but it's seriously greek to me, and I'm feeling overwhelmed trying to understand legal jumble.

West Virgina
South Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
New Mexico
Illinois
Colorado


Anyone know on these? Or know how to find out online without legal jargon?
post #46 of 49
I live in Illinois...one of the only things I like about this state is their "liberal homeschooling policy".....I don't need to report/count days/send anything in.. compulsory school age is 7 ............I had a list at one time that requires we teach xyz subjects and they are to be done in English....guess I forgot the rest LOL. Some help I am!

I am concerned that in the future things will change in this state and we may be required to do things or be monitored so there is a bit of concern in that aspect.
post #47 of 49
This site has a "brief summary" in the info for each state's laws. Hope that helps!

http://www.nhen.org/leginfo/state_list.asp
post #48 of 49
Thread Starter 
Thank you so much! That site is perfect! I kept looking them up one by one and reading Sect 1A.34Z.S.U.C.K.S. and herethyby thou art... was making my sleep deprived head implode. You've made my day, thank you!
post #49 of 49
I just want to clarify something-- homeschooling in PA is a lot easier than the laws would have you believe; If it wasn't, there wouldn't be so many homeschoolers. Yes, there is a testing requirement for grades 3, 5, and 8; You'd be amazaed at how many homeschooled children in this state repeat the second grade and move right on to fourth. The compulsory attendance age is, as stated, 8-- by September 15th. This means that if your child's birthday is September 16th, you don't have to start reporting until they're damn near nine. Moreover, compulsory attendance is only up to 8th grade in PA. If you can demonstrate that your child has completed the eighth grade, you're no longer required to report jack. That means that some people are only legally required to report for four years, and nobody's actually required to report for more than six. Your child won't have a high school diploma if you do this, but for lots of people that's just fine.

You do have to be aware of the laws and your rights within them. It doesn't take much to be compliant, and if your local district requests more of you you're well within your rights to write a letter explicitly stating the law and demonstrating that you are in compliance. That said, many people choose noncompliance and I've never heard of anyone being prosecuted for this.

PA also has more cyber charter schools than any other state. The advantage to this is that you're not subject to any of the homeschooling laws; The disadvantage is that legally, your child is a public school student and is thus subject to the applicable laws. It works for some people, it doesn't work for others.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Learning at Home and Beyond
Mothering › Mothering Forums › Childhood and Beyond › Education › Learning at Home and Beyond › Give me the good, bad, and ugly on your states laws