Mothering Forum banner

Wash your face with honey!

236K views 764 replies 289 participants last post by  grisandole 
#1 ·
It really works!

I am a massage therapist, and have been having the worst trouble with my skin. I think I get the lotion on my face somehow (by brushing my hair away, itching,, ect.) and it just makes me break out terribly. I also have really sensitive skin, so pretty much every face product makes me break out in dermatitis. Add in to that Hawaii's heat and humidity and it's just a sad, downhill slope for my skin

Well, one of the estheticians that I work with has been trying to help me find something that I can use, that won't make it worse (I work for Aveda, so we are all pretty crunchy there and well versed in natural care for the body). Anyway, she suggested I start washing my face with plain honey, since it's a natural antibiotic and moisturizer.

I tried it and it's amazing. By two washes my face has cleared up completely, and not only that - it's glowing!!! Seriously, I don't think my skin has ever looked this nice!! We are both converts now!

Just wanted to share with you all.

See less See more
#4 ·
NOpe, I just put it straight on. We keep it in the shower and I squirt a little in my hand, and then use a little warm water to mix it up and massage it on. I've even put it on as a "mask" and let it sit for like 10 minutes, then rinsed it off.

#13 ·
What is OCM? I would be wary of putting any oil on my face, because it's so super sensitive - even essential oils, but if you have good skin, try it! My friend who taught me this, swears by honey with a shea butter moisturizer (shea butter is great for acne)

#17 ·
Honey is antibacterial in nature, is known for helping acne-prone skin and heal skin (acne wounds, skin burns, etc). With it's semi-acidic pH and glycolic acid level, it is a great product to use on your skin. Try adding rosewater for additional benefits and pretty smell.

For extra exfoliation, you can put oat flour or brown sugar.