Mothering Forum banner

2009 Zones 3-5 Gardeners

16K views 354 replies 74 participants last post by  zensven42 
#1 ·
#2 ·
So what are everyone's plans?

#3 ·
I'll start. Complete newbie and serial plant killer.

I plan to try and build a cold frame for lettuce in the back yard. And do a trashcan with potatoes.

In the front we have new raspberries and 6yo cherries (don't know if I'll get any, both birds and bats eat them). We will be ripping out landscaping and trying to grow something in front (shaded backyard), not sure what yet although I have a ton of seeds.

In the fall, I want to try garlic and shallots.

V

#4 ·
We're in zone 5, practically tropical compared to some of you! Anyhoo, we still need to build our raised beds but before that can be done, a French drain needs to be installed under the area that the beds will go. Blah. I have an absolute mountain of compost and when I've fussed with it a bit, the worms are going nuts already! I work in the summer camp industry and may be getting a promotion into a huge job so I'm not sure if anything will happen this summer other than our compost pile continuing to grow. Fingers crossed!

#5 ·
We are going to attempt this chicken coop garden. I got the link from another thread here.

I already have most of my seeds and my order is in for tomato and pepper transplants. Last year I got such a late start that this year I am pretty stressed that I am going to do something too early, too late or just plain wrong.
This is only our second year with a garden.

A couple of weeks ago I drew out this big plan and labled all the veggies on it, but now I think that may have to be adjusted because the chicken coop garden plan isn't the same shape. As luck would have it (or not), dh expects to be laid off again at about the same time this stuff will need to be done.

A friend of mine is really, really into Martha Stewart and has a beautiful garden Martha style. I know I could never meet that standard, but I'd like to try!