Need Low-Maintenance Veggie Gardening Ideas - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 04-13-2009, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm going to be having major ankle surgery on May 21st.

DH set up a space for me to plant some veggies right next to the back door which he tilled with organic soil for me. I won't be able to do very much maintaining due to my lack of mobility over the summer. I will be able to crutch out and get on my knees, but my time will be limited. DH can help water, but will be have double responsibilty in the house, so I don't want to ask much more of him.

Are there any veggies I can grow (zone 7/8 - North Carolina) that require little maintenance??

I have some cucumbers started in a pot for transferring, but it's my first time with those so I don't know how much work they require. I have booming parsley. I have seeds for organic lettuce...but never tried them before.

Anyone have some tips/ideas/info to offer?

Thank you in advance...

Becca ~Mama to 3 (DD - 1/3/02) (DD - 2/16/04) (DS - 8/11/05)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 12 Old 04-13-2009, 03:40 PM

I found lettuce easy, but they prefer colder weather, so might not do as well in the summer and start bolting quickly.

Basil will probably easy as well and Parsley and Cilantro.

Zucchini are very hands-off imo. They just grow and grow and grow and grow.

Beets are low maintenance as well. Rainbow chard as well.

I remember seeing some old farm gardens, where everything was just growing anywhere and it was messy, but wonderful.

Good luck to your ankle!

Mom since Oct'09. Wife to a loving husband. Expecting a little bean in May'12

#3 of 12 Old 04-13-2009, 06:01 PM

One thing you can do no matter what you end up planting is put a good layer of mulch over the soil. it will hold moisture so you don't have to water as often and suppress weeds.