Mothering Forum banner

Tell me about your failures

1K views 29 replies 19 participants last post by  honeybunch2k8 
#1 ·
And make me feel better!!

This is my first year really attempting a garden. It will be our second summer in our house, but last year I was pregnant and on bedrest, and then had a newborn.

I tried starting some seeds indoors. My broccolli and pumpkins sprouted, but then dried out and died. I still have one type of tomatoes that seem to still be alive. My peppers, watermelon and onions never sprouted at all. I am a bad seedling mommy

I have some more seeds that we will direct plant in time. I am Zone 3, so it will still be a few weeks. We will also be buying some plants from the nursery so we have a chance of actually harvesting something.

I know this is all a learning process, but I still feel like a crappy gardener. Please make me feel better by telling me about your failures along the way.

See less See more
#2 ·
The first year I started seedlings inside, I started them wayyyyyyyyyyy to early. I'm zone 2b so I can't plant out tender plants until June. I started my tomatoes in February. That's 4 months for those poor things growing inside. That wouldn't have been so bad if I had a good light set up but in my little window, they were really leggy, yellow and sad by the time I could plant them out. Then I didn't harden them off properly and they died anyway.

Then there was the year I had beautiful little cucumber starts growing in a flat. When I separated them it shocked there roots and they died. Now I start them in individual containers and they transplant better.

And to this day, I just can not seem to grow corn. I try every year and every year I get one or two scrawny inedible ears. I really should give up and stop wasting space but I keep thinking about the corn my mom used to grow and how fantastic it tasted fresh.