If you could choose just three fruit/nut trees - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 07-31-2009, 11:57 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
What would they be? I think we can grow pretty much anything in our climate.

I think a lemon tree is a necessity, maybe a nectarine because they travel so poorly, then maybe an apricot tree for jam? Or maybe a multi-graft stone fruit tree so there's not so much of a glut of one kind?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 15 Old 07-31-2009, 03:28 PM

If I could I'd grow sweet cherries, you can make jam, pie, eat them fresh, make liquor...
#3 of 15 Old 08-01-2009, 02:13 AM

I'm no expert, so you can take this for what it's worth...

keep in mind that some fruit trees require another of the same kind to pollinate. If there is only one you won't get any fruit. I know this is true of some cherry varieties.

We planted three apple, two cherry, and a plum a couple of months ago.

Married to an Ogre, Mother of Danora Rose 12/31/2008 and missing Evan Michael 12/31/2008 Expecting someone new 7/11/2011

#4 of 15 Old 08-01-2009, 03:52 AM

Well, if you can have a lemon tree, you might not be able to grow certain varieties of other fruit trees... I know up here apples do really well because of the chill hours they need (and with snow from Oct/Nov through April, yeah) and such.

If I were starting from scratch, ideally I'd want a peach tree (Red Haven is popular, I've got a baby Reliance Peach out back), Honeycrisp or Pink Pearl apple, and a Van or Lambert cherry (supposedly the Vans are the best variety to dehydrate). But that's also assuming your neighbors have fruit trees as well that can cross-pollinate with mine. Otherwise, that limits your choices to just 2-3 of just apples or peaches or whatever. Or the 4-in-1's... supposedly they don't last as long as dwarf or standard rootstock fruit trees, but I couldn't pass up one when I was at Costco early this spring.