Composting ?s - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-17-2010, 07:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I want to start composting. I'm thinking about using trash cans or something similar with holes in it and also using worms. Are there any negatives to using worms? I keep seeing that people use "red feeder worms" for composting. Where do you get these? They would be different from the earth worms already in the garden, right? Can I use earthworms instead? If red worms end up in the garden along with the compost, is there any harm there? (Sorry about all the questions. I'm a total newbie at gardening!)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-21-2010, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter

Bumping! Worms seem to be getting more popular with composters. Are there any disadvantages to using them?
Old 07-22-2010, 01:33 PM

Hi there. I'm new to Mothering (lurker)

I've been vermicomposting for about a year now. I bought my first batch of red wigglers online. There are many sources for them, you can just do a search and look for the best price. Earthworms will not compost, just the wigglers. I have 2 bins going right now. I'm actually going to "harvest" the compost later today. (I received my 2nd batch of worms from our elementary school after they did a section on composting - I adopted them. )

We're a family of 4 and eat a lot of produce. I needed 2 bins to keep up with us. I just bury the food under the worms/materials and they do their work. I keep my bins in my dining room. You'd never know it, there is no smell. It's been pretty hot around here 90 F - so there is no way they could go outside, plus it gets below zero in the winter. If you can keep them outside, keep them cool and out of the sun.