Anyone NOT like square foot gardening? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 30 Old 08-14-2010, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Is there a downside?

The book reads like a sales pitch, and it almost sounds too good to be true. I saw on another thread that some plants need more room than that to grow well (or at all). I'm a total gardening newbie (only herbs and one possible tomato in pots so far) so I have no idea if it's really just that easy and idiot-proof or if there's more to know.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 30 Old 08-14-2010, 09:33 PM

Quoted: 13 Post(s)
I didn't want to build the bed frames or have to buy all my soil when I had decent soil right my my backyard that just needed amending, but I went with closer to biointensive gardening (close plant spacing, wide row beds, double digging 2ft deep and amending the soil somewhat lightly).
#3 of 30 Old 08-15-2010, 03:19 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I just didn't like how unsustainable it is. If you can't get your hands on peat moss and perlite, what would you do? I prefer just adding several yards of compost to the garden over the years to loosen it up and make it happy and more friable. The raised bed thing doesn't bother me so much, I just didn't have the kind of money to be making 30+ of those. Just take the ideas you like and roll with it.

Wife to an amazing hubby, mother hen to four chicken3.gif 
(If you're curious, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2010, and yes, it's a busy house)
#4 of 30 Old 08-15-2010, 03:47 AM

It was what lead me to biointensive gardening, so that was a plus, but the soil mix was not realistic for us, so we deviated away from it once we did a bit more research. Look into John Jeavons: http://www.amazon.com/Vegetables-Ber...tt_at_ep_dpi_1 His biointensive methods are awesome.