Is my tomato plant infested or pollinated? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 08-19-2010, 02:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Total newbie question here... My entire garden consists of one little tomato plant so far.... And it only has one little tomato on it....

I went to check my tomato this afternoon and noticed that it has new growth on top and more flowers!

I also noticed that I might need to add some mulch or compost to the pot b/c the soil seems low, and then realized that there are TONS of tiny black fly-looking things all over the soil and the plant. We have a few in the house too, around our plants. The leaves on the tomato plant have lots of holes in them, but the tomato itself is untouched. Is my plant being eaten alive, or are holey leaves okay as long as the plant is still growing and flowering?
#2 of 7 Old 08-20-2010, 08:04 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Is it aphids. If it is you can hose the plant down and get them off. Tomato plants really don't liked to be hosed off, but you can probably do it carefully after the sun goes down at night.

Cathy toddler.gifMama to James(6)coolshine.gifand Maggie Mae (1)luxlove.gif Wife to Daveguitar.gif

And 3rdtri.gif with #3 bigeyes.gif Due in August 2013!!!

#3 of 7 Old 08-20-2010, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter

I thought aphids were white? (But again, I'm a total newbie who knows next to NOTHING!)

These are barely 1 mm big, black with clear wings. They half fly, half jump, but they're not as jumpy as fleas (with what limited experience I've had with fleas...) They are attracted to the water in the house, like around the kitchen sink, and when I went to wipe down the sink yesterday, several had drowned themselves in the little puddle under the sponge. (EW...)