Earth that's been fallow quite a while? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 01-21-2011, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

This is my first year to finally be able to plant directly in the dirt! I've been an urban container gardener up until now.

How do I prepare the soil for my garden area? It's been hard-packed with nothing but a few weeds growing in it for several years.

We don't have a compost to speak of, though I want to start one, I don't know that it will be ready by planting season.

Any advice is appreciated! TIA

Happy and in love with my family!
#2 of 10 Old 01-22-2011, 12:59 PM

In my mind, you generally have two main options - dig down or build up. 

Digging down will require a lot of work and then you'll want to amend the soil to make it richer and healthier.  Compost is obviously a good place to start.

Building up, a la lasagna gardening, will require the purchase of some materials but a huge advantage is that it's not nearly as labor intensive and you can begin the building up by adding multiple layers of either newsprint or cardboard (lots and lots of layers).  The layer on bottom will help prevent the weeds/unwanted plants from getting enough light to survive.

Have fun!  We're about to move into a new house and I've already begun thinking about garden placement.

dust.gif & superhero.gif :: 9/2004
#3 of 10 Old 01-22-2011, 06:10 PM