A few raised bed questions - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 01-27-2011, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm sure this has all been covered here and there, but there's a lot of info to sort through.

I've done container gardening before, mostly herbs but a few peppers and tomatoes. This is my first year with a "real" garden.

Simplicity and cost are key.  I'm lazy, work full time, and have a nine month old.

I'm going to do a raised bed- I'm thinking 4x8 and 6 inches deep? 

I was thinking of doing: tomatoes, bell peppers, zucchini, loofah (for fun!), calendula, spinach, and various herbs (cilantro, basil, chives, thyme, oregeno). 

On my list of things that I'm also considering are things like peas, pole beans, eggplant, winter squash, garlic, green onion.

I'm also going to do potatoes in a trashcan, and sunflowers somewhere else.

I'm going to go to the bookstore and buy a sq ft gardening book, but they seem so fussy.  I have no interest in making mel's mix or anything.  I do have a worm box, though I may or may not have frozen the worms, we'll see.  I have a stash of cardboard ready to lay down on the bottom of the bed.  No time for true lasagna gardening.

I live in Zone 7 (central NC).

So, dump your knowledge on me!  What are some pitfalls I should really really avoid?  What are some things that I don't really need to worry about?  Any plants that I should really not plant near each other?  Anything that I'm forgetting to plant? 

Hippie sympathizer and mom to L, 4.8.10.
Pet-mom to Squirt with FLUTD & Maya the deaf wonder dog .
#2 of 9 Old 02-01-2011, 08:48 AM