Gardening with a baby- how do you do it?! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 23 Old 02-27-2011, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)

I have one 11 month old son. I have been gardening voracoiusly for about 12 years- it is one of my favorite things to do and I do it as much as I can. Last year when ds was a newborn I didn't really do too much of it, other than maintain a few already well established gardens. This year I am going to be in a new gardening place and plan to start a new garden- but I am not sure how to do that while also caring for the baby- for example- I guess i could wear him on my back but we haven't ever done back carry and I wonder how that would go while gardening? I feel like if I put him down he will simply eat dirt sticks rocks and bugs! He is still very much into putting everything into his mouth. If I put him on a blanket with toys he will crawl off the blanket. If I put him right next to me he will grab at the garden plants! Do I simply have to only garden when someone else is watching hi,? Any other ideas? So far usually I watch him or dh watches him.  Dh will be working 40-50 hrs a week most of the summer- so I guess it may be time to find a babysitter part time- maybe that is the answer? find a babysitter a couple of hours a few times a week and garden then? that could work.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 23 Old 02-28-2011, 01:31 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)