Balcony Food Garden in a Tropical Climate - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 03-04-2011, 09:46 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm a complete novice to gardening because we never really had the opportunity before.  We've always lived a very nomadic lifestyle and have lived in some pretty small spaces so even though I've always wanted a garden it was never realistic. 

We've finally settled down now and will be moving into an apt with an average size balcony (it's big enough for a table, some chairs and some plants).  I'm not so much interested in making the garden pretty as I am in making it practical.  I'd love to grown some fruit/veggies/herbs out there but I just have no clue WHAT to grow!  We live in a tropical climate and mosquitoes that carry dengue do like to hang around gardens and any open water sources so that's a real concern for us.  I've been trying to look up ways to avoid them but I can't find anything. 

So does anybody have suggestions about what foods could be easily grown on a small balcony in a tropical environment and things that won't attract mosquitoes? 

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-11-2011, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter

Anybody???? Even if you don't have any experience yourself if there's a website you know of to point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it. 

Old 03-12-2011, 06:34 PM

Well, my climate is much different, but if I were in your shoes I'd probably grow:

Potted lemon and lime trees - useful, pretty and I think help repel mosquitos

potted herbs - basil, thai basil, lemongrass, rosemary, lavender, cilantro - those are all useful, pretty, repellant

cherry tomatoes - a couple of these

peppers

green onions

maybe some day neutral strawberries?

salad greens are easy, would it be too hot for them?