what is your seed-starting method? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 04-15-2011, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Just curious.  I am new at this and know there are tips out there that I could learn and make me a more successful gardener. 

I have seeds started, none germinating, and was watching some videos where some people wait till their seeds sprout before they put them in a sunny window or under ligths.  Some cover their seeds with plastic to keep in warmth and moisture.  Is this something I should be doing?  Especially with my peppers.  My seeds are in a sunny window and I am watering them when they look to need it.  Is that good enough? 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 04-15-2011, 03:42 PM

That's probably sufficient.  Don't let the soil get dry between waterings, seeds need more constant moisture than established plants do.  Most veggie seeds don't need light until they poke their heads up above the soil surface, since the soil is blocking out light anyway.