Getting really freakin' ticked off. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-25-2011, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

After decades of gardening and still coming up with pretty much nothing, I am pissed, to say the least. Every time I plant, it's a total failure even though I follow everything in the gardening books.

The problem? It seems as though every gardening book ever written is for people who already know about gardening. Every time something fails for me, I learn the next year what was wrong and I'm so angry about it because no one ever told me and none of the gardening books said a thing about it. The reason? They all just expect you to already know this. Like it's common knowledge and then I feel like a complete idiot.

After all this time, I'd love to think I was an expert gardener but no. I plant lettuce and nothing happens. When the season is over, someone tells me I have to put the seeds in the fridge for a couple of weeks first. Really? And nobody thought to tell me that before? I'll plant something and it grows but produces nothing, only to find out later that that particular variety of whatever-it-is only produces in the second half of the year when the days are getting longer. *sigh* OF COURSE it wouldn't say something helpful like that on the seed package. No, that would be stupid.

Every year it's the same thing. Total crop failure because of some obvious thing I should totally know but no one told me because apparently I should already know it.

I have been all over the internet and read every book our library has and I can't seem to find a gardening book that tells me all the basics. A real "organic gardening for dummies" book. Not the ones that say "gardening for beginners." Apparently, there's no such thing.

And you'd think gardening in Hawaii would make it easier, but no. :(