Plant Identification??? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-08-2011, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Okay so here is the skinny, we recently moved into a wonderful new house(to us) and are undertaking the process of updating and adding vegetable gardens.  The woman who lived here before was a 100 years old when she died, but was a hardcore gardener until about three years ago.  Since then everything has kind of been 'maintained' by her elderly children and nice neighbors.  

I really want to keep the rose bush(es) that she has on the south side of the house, but I am new to roses.  I am keeping them in honor of her memory, I feel a kindred with her spirit here, it may the 5 row clothes line, or the canning stove in the laundry room, or the wood stove that heats the house! winky.gif We have ripped out tons of her other vegetation throughout the yard that was covered in ivy, weeds or too overgrown to bring back.  This is the one thing I am set on keeping to honor the memory of the woman who lived here before.  treehugger.gif

That said, I am a black plague thumb when it comes to flowers.greensad.gif  I can grow veggies and herbs, but flowers don't like me.  I am hoping I can maintain a little of Marvel's, the lady's name, plant magic for her roses, which she obviously loved.  

Any ideas on how to identify what kind they are? A good book to read on rose gardening, etc?  I am new to the flower garden world, and have been frustrated out of planting them after so many disasters. I even tried to transplant flowers once. A hail storm came and took most of the down, literally ten minutes after I went inside from transplanting them.  I am worried I will kill the roses with just my bad luck!!!  Good rose vibes are needed!!!

wife to an amazing hippie man, momma to many~3 DS/ 3DD  novaxnoIRC.gif homebirth.jpgcd.gif homeschool.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-08-2011, 09:06 PM

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)