composting while traveling? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 01-09-2012, 08:21 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

We are planning to be full time RVing within the next few months - our third major family trip next week.  I am a planner, mentally hashing out each obstacle along the way.  

One big issue for us is reducing our footprint and earthly impact.  In our stick house, we compost almost every scrap.  Recycling on the road is easy, but the food waste issue is really messing with my brain.  I've been composting for over 25 years, and my parents still do.  It is just the WAY.  On our last trip, I did discard some food scraps along the way ... ummm ... along the road ... very carefully and thoughtfully ... and we froze what we could when we were close to our ultimate destinations, but I still had to throw away a bunch of egg shells and citrus peels, etc.  It was intensely painful for me to throw that organic matter in a trash can!!  I know, I'm weird, but it's ingrained in my brain.  (Oh, and we also have pet rabbits, and it would probably send me over the edge to throw away their litterbox contents!)

So, I've been trying to figure out a way to have a worm bin, but that will present its own challenges.  We won't be able to control the temperature 100%, even though our ideal goal is to stick to moderate climate zones during the winter and summer.  We won't be able to devote a lot of weight or space to this, either.  But, I can manage to find space for a DIY bin of stacked rubbermaid totes, I'm pretty sure.  

But others who have done it are suggesting that I shouldn't attempt to travel with a worm bin because they are too fragile.  

So, any other suggestions?  Has anyone tried an electric under-counter composter?  kinda pricey, but if it was worth it ... I would trade my sewing machine for compost, maybe!