Shower and washing machine water draining out into my plants - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 04-09-2012, 10:42 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi! I just joined this team and look, I'm already full of questions. I am really new to gardening and started up because I bought a new home and I'm working on becoming more self-sufficient. I also need a good hobby :) 

I have a bit of a problem and I was hoping someone here could help me out:

I just bought a new home and all the water from one shower and from the washing machine drains out into the yard where all our peach, pear, apple and plum trees are as well as flowers and grapes. The original owners set it up this way to lighten the load on septic tank. 

The owner said that it never hurt the plants and they get nice fruits and blooms each spring. But I was wondering if it hurts the quality of my fruit. If i use regular detergents and soaps is this going to taint the plums/peaches/ etc. I have a feeling it will.

But even if i use green detergent i have a feeling my apples are going to be harmed somehow. as for the shower would castile soap and baking soda (for hair) be as "clean" as I could get? 

I really appreciate anyones input. I'm a little stressed out about the entire situation.

#2 of 7 Old 04-09-2012, 06:18 PM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)

If you are talking about simply the health of the trees and plants, then I would take the word of the previous owner.  Your water producing habits might be different, so that might affect things a little.