Best things to plant in a patio container garden? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-17-2012, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)

I live in NH and would love to have a small container garden. But I'm a complete novice. The patio gets a good deal of sun. What are some recommendations that are easy enough to allow a beginner to experience gardening success? Anything simple enough for a 2 year old to help with? I'm curious about parsley, cilantro, kale & healthy greens, tomatoes, bell peppers, etc. Also, how many plants should I try in the beginning and when is the best time to plant them?

Many, many thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-17-2012, 09:22 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I would suggest starting small.  Just a few pots.  The cost can add up quick, and then if something happens and you can't keep up or decide it's too much work you'll be disappointed.  You can also find pots on CL or Freecycle sometimes though - which will help with the cost.  Don't bother buying "soil" - try to find prepared compost instead, and then I mix compost with coconut fiber (for water retention - coconut is renewable, peat is not).  If you have a friend who is experienced with gardening, ask them to come over and show you how to repot a plant.  It's not difficult, but it's so much easier (for me) to learn by being shown than it is by words on a computer screen.