Saving jars for canning - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 12-08-2012, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I have no experience with canning. My husband has been growing some vegetables for a few years without much success -- but this year, I have really gotten interested in helping him and working toward greater self sufficiency and less dependence on corporations for food.

One thing I want to do is be ready to start canning. I don't know how soon we'll have enough of a yield from our own gardens for this -- but I also want to be prepared the next time there is a huge sale on very ripe produce, such as tomatoes or strawberries. When these sales come up, I think you really need to work quickly, and to already have the supplies you need on hand.

Things are very tight for us financially, so I am trying to avoid any unnecessary expense by saving the glass jars from any food products we buy.

So far, the only kinds of jars I've seen recommended for canning have been Mason jars with the lids in two pieces. I was wondering whether anyone has been able to safely can foods with other kinds of jars -- especially those with the lids all in one piece?

Susan -- married unschoolin' WAHMomma to two lovely girls (born 2000 and 2005).
#2 of 13 Old 12-08-2012, 11:30 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I love canning! I haven't had the time or energy to do it this year but I can share some of my experiences.

I would really recommend the Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/0778801314
It gives you a lot of basic information, variations and ways to troubleshoot if something seems to not be going right. Canning is a very precise process and if it is not done correctly you run the risk of spoilage. There is nothing worse than opening one of those beautiful jars on your shelf only to find that something has gone bad.